You are currently browsing the monthly archive for November 2010.


Courtesy of Nice Weather for Airstrikes / Monster Build Mean Robots / Flies Are Spies From Hell– A name-your-price compilation has been put together for everyone’s benefit! Give what you can, support these wonderful people who take time to enrich music communities.


Featured artists:

Alright the Captain

What The Blood Revealed

Flies Are Spies From Hell

Monster Build Mean Robots

Waking Aida

Double Handsome Dragons

+ many more



Remember to spread the word!

This is Giuliano Gullotti AKA Amberhaze. His debut album Then We Saw The Stars Again is released on Singapore based label Kitty Wu Records.

Basically, its ok. If I were to mark it /10 I would give it 5. Its pleasant, it would work well as a film score, maybe in something like Into The Wild or Lost In Translation, but as an album I’m not sure it works. The mixture of electronics and live instruments is reminiscent of Port-Royal (from Italy as well, coincidentally) and well executed. Gullotti has also chosen a nice selection of instruments to complement the tasteful beats; with piano, glockenspiel, guitar, strings… a pretty standard instrumentation for instrumental shoegaze/post-rock.

However, it just doesn’t have enough hooks or discernable melodies to keep me interested for 50 minutes. The album seemed to pass at a monotonous pace, without climaxing or progressing very much. To be fair, the 12 tracks are referred to as soundscapes, so maybe the ambience, and dare I say, dullness of it is intended.

I’ve posted this, despite not being a massive fan, because Mr. Gullotti still deserves a mention and many of you may very well disagree with me. Have a listen and judge for yourselves:

I’m keen to hear what he does next; it certainly sounds like he could do something amazing some day.

Her Name Is Calla released their album The Quiet Lamb via Denovali Records on November 4th.

We at Cinematic Music would like to congratulate them and give The Quiet Lamb the much sought after award of:


After numerous EPs and splits, the first real full-length album by HNIC has raised the bar and set a new standard for what this band can do. The Quiet Lamb possesses all the tasteful minimalism of previous material whilst retaining an extremely rich tapestry of sonic textures, and what truly makes this album special is how seamlessly and consistently it weaves from track to track, taking you from one end of the spectrum of human emotions to another.

I’ve noticed that many other bloggers have said similar things, and I believe we may need to brace ourselves for the next Sigur Rós. HNIC seem to have fully developed their unique sound and channeled it through these 12 pieces which present themselves as a barrage of simplistic grandiosity. I reference Sigur Rós because what they created was outstanding unique music which was still accessible to a wide range of listeners- and HNIC have captured that essence and applied it to their sound.

As Cinematic Album of the Year, if you’re a regular visitor to this blog and haven’t yet heard The Quiet Lamb, you must get hold of a copy right away.


  • قائمتي المتواضعه لافضل مشاهداتي للافلام للان هذه القائمه تخضع للدوق الشخصي ربما يعجبك شي منها وربما لا اتركو لنا ق…… 4 days ago
  • الحدود 1984 بعيدا عن السينما العالميه لا بد ان نتطرق الى السينما العربيه والتي لا تخلو من الافلام الرائعه كغيرها م…… 4 days ago
  • ڤكتور سيوستروم المخرج والممثل السويدي ڤكتور سيوستروم ولد عام 1879 في السويد, وقال انه فقط من سنة من العمر عندما ان…… 1 week ago
  • Sanju (2018) يبو اننا مقبلون على عمل اخر عظيم من اعمال المخرج والكاتب الكبير راجكومار هيراني الذي قدم لنا عديد الا…… 1 week ago
  • انجمار بيرجمان استفاد بشكل كبير من روايتي نزهة على جانب الطريق للأخوين أركادي وبوريس ستروغاتسكي والتي امتازت بعنصر…… 2 weeks ago
  • رواية 1984 جورج أورويل كامله: عبر @YouTube 2 weeks ago
  • دوسان ماكافييف المقطع من فيلم WR: Mysteries of the Organism 1971 دوسان ماكافييف Dusan Makavejev هو أحد الأسماء ال…… 2 weeks ago